Nikon D7500 Review (with D500 and D7200 Comparison)

It’s Here! The D7500 review you’ve been waiting for! This in-depth review comes after a solid month of using the camera professionally in the field as my primary body for wildlife photography.

In this video, we’ll take a comprehensive look at the D7500 from a wildlife photographer’s perspective, as well as compare it to the D7200 and D500. Plus, I’ve loaded the video with a bunch of cool tips, tricks, and real world usage examples. If you’re thinking about a D7500, this is the one video you absolutely need to watch. Check it out!

If you purchase any of the cameras in the review using my Amazon links, it helps support this site and is greatly appreciated!

D7500

D7200

D500

PS…

If you enjoyed this article, I think you’ll REALLY like my e-books, Secrets To Stunning Wildlife Photography and Secrets To The Nikon Autofocus System. They’re filled with hundreds of pages of information just like this. Check it out – click here (hey, it’s free to look 🙂 )

Please tell others about this post:


Help support this site! Make your next purchase through our amazon link or consider making a contribution

This entry was posted in Nikon Gear, Reviews, Tests, Wildlife.

14 Comments

  1. Markku Sulonen August 9, 2017 at 5:56 pm #

    Hi Steve,

    Thanks for your D7500 review, again very clear and profound.

    I have D7200 and D750, but I feel I need lighter gear (than FX and a heavy and looong lens) to carry around, so I´m considering a new DX camera body (D7500 or D500, to be mounted with f300 PF and TC in some occasions). Now, I think, I have more substance to consider things, great. New approach could be to have two bodies instead of just changing existing ones to a new one. Sounds to me like D7200 and D7500 well completes each other.

  2. Ray Wills July 30, 2017 at 12:34 am #

    Steve,
    Thanks for the review on the D7500. I upgraded from a D3200 and needless to say the difference is incredible. I also picked up a Sigma 150 – 600mm F5-6.3 DG Contemporary Lens based on one of your other reviews. Thanks!!!

  3. Don E. July 26, 2017 at 12:30 am #

    Hi Steve,
    I watched your review and am now convinced that the D7500 will be a good match for my Nikon 200-500. With the cropped sensor I will get that bit extra length. Also as much as I like that D500, I will save a few bucks and get a new lense.
    Thanks
    Don E.

  4. Steve July 15, 2017 at 6:42 pm #

    I have owned the D500, D750, D7200.
    Excellent review, I would offer that you spend more time giving opinion on important aspects of quality. e.g. dynamic range, accuracy in color rendition. There are noticable differences in the above models when representing color and contrast at default settings. I am not sure why but it may be because the D7200 uses a Toshiba chip with the others use a Sony ?. The D500 had unseasonably more contrast and I couldn’t match the pleasing range of the D7200 with in-camera picture control adjustments. I’ve seen samples of the D750 and they look similar in color and contrast rendition to the D500. You are a good reviewer. Thank you.

    • Steve July 15, 2017 at 6:45 pm #

      Sorry about that… correction: I’ve seen samples of the D7500 (Missed a zero, ouch.).

  5. Jim T July 15, 2017 at 2:23 pm #

    A very nice review. (As an aside: it was during a holiday in South Dakota, at places like Wind Cave and Custer parks, that I realized that it was finally time to move from film to digital.) I have had a D7500 for a little over a week now. It is a definite step up from the D5300 I was using before. There is a lot to learn in order to use it effectively (sounds like your autofocus ebook is something I could use). That said, I am very pleased with the images that it has produced. The buffer size was the main feature that made me choose it over the D7200, and the lower price was why I chose it over the D500.

    • Steve Perry July 17, 2017 at 11:02 pm #

      Yup, it’s an impressive little camera – and I was very pleased with it out in Custer 🙂

      • Jim T July 18, 2017 at 7:32 am #

        I did buy your autofocus ebook, by the way, and have learned valuable things from it.

  6. John Reveley July 14, 2017 at 11:32 am #

    Great review Steve. A little late for me but it did reaffirm my decision that the D500 was the right purchase for me.

  7. Winston July 14, 2017 at 3:47 am #

    As always an excellent video, full of useful details pertaining to just about every feature the camera contains. Better yet, everythingis placed with a real world context that enables a serious photographer to make an informed judgement as to how well the camera will perform in the context within which he plans to use it! When used to describe Steve’s explainations of technical detail the word “impressive” always seems to fall short so I will describe this detailed test report of the D7500 as “increadibly impressive!”

  8. Paul C July 13, 2017 at 9:04 pm #

    Steve – great job as usual. I have a 7100 as a backup body (to a D810) and love the way the DX sensor brings me closer to the action – After studying the alternatives, I think the D500 is the right camera for me.

    Thanks again for pointing out the key differences.

    Paul C.

  9. Brian Bernard July 13, 2017 at 7:34 pm #

    This is a very comprehensive review. One question, though; does the D7500 have an internal autofocus motor so that ‘D’ lenses can be used, or is it removed like in the D3x00 and D5x00 models?

    I’m doing more bird photography now, so I’m giving serious thought to upgrading my D7100 (due to the buffer limit) to either a D500 or D7200. While the D7500 is an interesting camera, I just feel that too much was removed to override the better AF performance, at least in my case.

    • Steve Perry July 13, 2017 at 7:37 pm #

      Yes, the D7500 has the little screw drive for “D” lenses, so no worries there. I can tell you that for birds, I’d take the D7500 over the D7200 all day long – but I’ll take a D500 over either one 🙂

      • Brian Bernard July 13, 2017 at 9:50 pm #

        Thank you for the information in regards to the “D” lenses. I’m leaning towards the D500 direction. Take care.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*