New Nikon 600mm TC – First Look Field Review!

Nikon just released their new 600mm F/4 TC VR S series lens, exclusively for the Nikon Z mount! I was fortunate enough to spend some time with the lens prior to today’s announcement and I can’t wait to share what I’ve discovered!

Nikon invited me to take one of their pre-production units out for a test drive last week in Florida, and WOW – this is one impressive hunk of glass!

In the video below, I’ll give you all the specifications and discuss the controls, features, technology, ergonomics, sharpness, rendering, autofocus, VR performance, how it handles in the field, and so much more.

Of course, I have gobs of sample images to show you, and I can’t wait to share my thoughts, insights, and recommendations. Is it the best wildlife lens ever? Check out the video and see!

Check out the new Z9 setup guide at this link!

Selected photos from the review. (Note that one some shots the shutter speed is a bit high because I was hoping for a flight shot. Plus, the conditions were so bright most of the time, I figured why not? ๐Ÿ˜€ )

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 840mm
1/3200th, F/5.6, ISO 1600

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 840mm
1/3200th, F/5.6, ISO 1600

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 840mm
1/5000th, F/5.6, ISO 720

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 840mm
1/2000th, F/5.6, ISO 360

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 600mm
1/4000th, F/4, ISO 450

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 600mm
1/3200th, F/4, ISO 90

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 840mm
1/3200th, F/5.6, ISO 360
 
^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 600mm
1/5000th, F/5.6, ISO 640

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 840mm
1/800th, F/5.6, ISO 1250


^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 840mm
1/3200th, F/5.6, ISO 450

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 600mm
1/3200th, F/5.6, ISO 100

 

^ Image captured with a pre-production NIKKOR 600mm F/4 TC VR S @ 840mm
1/2500th, F/5.6, ISO 500

 

 

PS โ€“ If you enjoyed this post, I think youโ€™ll REALLY like my e-books and video workshops! Thousands of pages and hours of videos filled with tips, tricks, and techniques – all my best content!ย Check โ€™em out โ€“ click hereย (hey, itโ€™s free to look).

Please tell others about this post:
4.8 6 votes
Article Rating
This entry was posted in Nikon Gear, Reviews, Wildlife.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
28 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Md. Amdadul Haque
3 months ago

From my perspective, the “NEW NIKON 600MM TC” lens has proven to be exceptional in the realm of photography. Its impressive capabilities have consistently assisted in achieving accurate and highly effective photo captures. I firmly believe that this lens can greatly enhance one’s ability to produce stunning and impactful images

joy
joy
5 months ago

this informative post and really enjoy the content
Thank you so much

Vectorize Service
6 months ago

Through this blog, I understand the usage of different Lenses. Thanks for sharing an amazing blog.

Ian
Ian
9 months ago

Very interesting! My understanding is that it will fit aNikon Z72. Is that right? You donโ€™t mention an anticipated cost. Any idea of a ball- park figure

Richard Bedford
10 months ago

Great work! I am a Sony user and have the 600mm f4. I love it. However, I have to admit, the built-in tc is a real advantage, although I prefer what f4 brings to the table when coupled with my A1.

David Burns
David Burns
10 months ago

Stunning shots Steve. Not a lens that I will ever be able to buy sadly! They are all wonderful but the very first shot, the Cormorant is my favourite. Avian minimalism at its best. Nice!

Shutterbug
Shutterbug
10 months ago

Awesome initial review of what looks like an awesome 600mm Nikon lens! It has a number of yummy features.

Milos
10 months ago

Steve, is the picture of the bird head heavy crop? It has amazing detail that would suggest not, but on the other hand you most likely could not get that close to the bird.

Milos
10 months ago
Reply to  Steve Perry

In any case it is a beautiful shot (and the others). Your review as always fantastic.

Cookie Segelstein
Cookie Segelstein
10 months ago

I received my Z 400 f/2.8 last month, and I have to say, it’s the sharpest lens I own. I have attached the 2.0 TC (where I get 800mm at 5.6 and found very little image quality loss. Even with the on board TC switched on, 1120 at f/8 is pretty darn good. I just came back from a trip to Africa that I paid for it three years ago (covid reschedule) and the extra stop of light was really nice. But now this is very tempting, although I think my bank account will make that decision. If I had… Read more »

Last edited 10 months ago by Cookie Segelstein
Sean Burke
Sean Burke
10 months ago

Does the foot need to be replaced for tripod mounting?

Last edited 10 months ago by Sean Burke
Tibor Vari
Tibor Vari
10 months ago

Steve I have the Nikon 600mm F4E and just got the Z9 with the adaptor. Have you tested the F4E with adaptor vs the new 600 F4 TC on the Z9? How is the image quality between the two lenses on the Z9?

Tibor Vari
Tibor Vari
10 months ago
Reply to  Steve Perry

Thank you Steve! I’ll look forward to your test results.

Michael Lane
Michael Lane
10 months ago

Clearly a beautiful lens for the lucky few. With Nikons Z PF lenses at 400mm and 800mm I was hoping they might bring out a 600mm f5.6 PF lens. Now those three lenses would make Nikon a total winner for most of us keen but not so rich wildlife photographers.

Chuck Zellmer
Chuck Zellmer
10 months ago

Beautiful images Steve. I am sure it will be very impressive piece of glass, but I do question the minds at Nikon for coming out with another lens that is bound to be popular, but priced for a limited market, while the 800mm, and both 400mm lenses are in short supply, on backorder and no shipment dates for the 800mm as far as I can find.

Rudolf
10 months ago

Steve, how would you compare this lens to the 800mm PF?

Rudolf
10 months ago
Reply to  Steve Perry

Thanks for this. I’m using the 800 a good deal, even with converter (best with 1.4). Below I still have the F-mount 180-400 TC, hoping to get the 200-600 as a S-series. But this 600 TC is a temptation, more than the 400 TC.

Pierre
10 months ago

Thanks, great presentation.

Rony
Rony
10 months ago

Lovely lens, great review.
The price makes the buy/no-buy decision a no-brainer, though…

Matt
Matt
10 months ago

Dammit! I retired this year so won’t be able to afford one ๐Ÿ™